Judge Charles E. "Ed" Clawson Jr., 61, of Conway announces that he is seeking re-election as 3rd Division Circuit Court judge for the 20th Judicial District. The district is composed of Faulkner, Van Buren and Searcy counties. Clawson has served this district since May 12, 1995, and during that time had the opportunity to handle all types of cases, which appear in Circuit Court, including civil, domestic relations and probate.

Clawson’s duties most recently have concentrated in the area of criminal filings as well as in the Faulkner County Drug Court and the newly created Veteran’s Court.

In making the announcement, Clawson said, "I have been greatly honored and have thoroughly enjoyed my opportunity to serve as circuit judge for this district. I am asking the voters for their support to allow me to continue to serve and continue the development, growth and expansion of the Drug Court and Veteran’s Court programs. I feel that in the capacity of 3rd Division Circuit Court judge I can make a difference in the community and I ask the voters for the opportunity to serve in that role."

Clawson is married to the former Donna Blythe, and the Clawsons celebrated their 40th anniversary in December 2012. They have three sons, Chuck, his wife Helen and their two sons, Case and Sam; Spencer; and Grant and his wife Jessica and their daughter Emory, all of Conway. Clawson is a life-long resident of Conway. He graduated from Conway High School, Hendrix College and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law. He previously was engaged in private practice and served as deputy prosecuting attorney. He was first appointed to the newly created 4th Division Circuit judgeship in 1995. Clawson ran for election as 3rd Division Circuit judge in 1996 and has served in that capacity and was last re-elected in 2008.

Clawson is a member of the Arkansas Judicial Council, the Arkansas Bar Association, Second Baptist Church, a Mason, a member and past president of the Faulkner County Historical Society and a member of the Faulkner County Fair Parade Committee.