The 85th annual Arkansas FFA State Convention was held at Camp Couchdale in Hot Springs this past June. Out of the 12,000 Arkansas FFA members, only 15 were recognized as State Officer Candidates. Out of those 15 individuals, six would be elected to the 2012-2013 Arkansas FFA State Officer Team.

After a week-long nominating committee process, Dausen Duncan of South Side-Bee Branch was elected Arkansas FFA State President.

The nominating committee was made up of nine FFA members from across the state; the process consisted of numerous activities ranging from prepared speaking, extemporaneous speaking, workshop evaluation, and facilitation techniques, which included speaking to more than 1,200 FFA members and guests.

This year’s state officers include: Secretary - John Brian Kirksey; Reporter - Amie Wilcox; Southern District Vice President - Lucas Head; Northwest District Vice President - Jarrett Turner; and Eastern District Vice President - Vicky Gallaher.

As the FFA motto states in the final line, "Living to Serve," these young individuals will dedicate one year of service to this outstanding organization not only at the Arkansas FFA level, but to the National FFA Organization as well.

Duncan is the son of Lonnie and Ginger Duncan and brother of Mason Duncan. He is the grandson of Dwight Hutto of Clinton, Ann Hutto of Bee Branch, and Jerry and Glynda Duncan, also of Bee Branch.

Duncan is a recent graduate of South Side and will attend Arkansas Tech University this fall where he will major in AgBusiness.