Governor Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Executive Vice President of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $58,705.76 to 15 county fair associations selected for funding through the Fiscal Year 2017, County Fair Building Grant Program. The awards ceremony took place on May 25th, 2017 held at the Hot Springs Convention Center in Hot Springs,

The Van Buren County Fair Association is receiving $3,958.07 to relocate a storage barn, move benches, reconstruct a new pole barn and install electricity to the “Farmer for a Day” area.

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the County Fair Grant Program each year. Counties with a population of 55,000 or less are eligible to apply, and the state grant money awarded through the program is administered by the county judge.

This past fiscal year, the maximum award was $4,000 and eligible projects included construction, renovation, or general improvements of county fair buildings or purchase of items shown to directly improve the building or the services that the county fair association may provide.

For more information about this grant program or the other services this agency provides, please contact AEDC Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.