The Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas will present the Arkansas Preservation Awards at a ceremony and dinner on January 9, 2015. The awards will honor great preservation achievements, people who make a difference in their communities, and projects that inspire others to protect Arkansas’s special places.

Nominations will be accepted in 12 distinct award categories. Individual awards will recognize leading craftspeople, homeowners, volunteers, and professionals for their work. Themed awards will salute outstanding education and advocacy initiatives, community programs, and dedicated stewardship. Project awards will honor the restoration and rehabilitation of buildings and sites and compatible design in historic areas. Past honorees of the Arkansas Preservation awards include architects, carpenters, and community leaders; museums, advocacy organizations, and neighborhood groups; and restoration and rehabilitation of historic schools, office buildings, post offices, courthouses and bridges.

Members of the public are invited to submit nominations for eligible projects in the following categories:

- Parker Westbrook Lifetime Achievement Award

- Outstanding Service in Preservation

- Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson

- Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation

- Excellence in Preservation through Restoration

- Excellence in Personal Preservation Projects

- Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Advocacy

- Outstanding New Construction in an Historic Setting

- Outstanding Preservation Reporting in the Media

- Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Preservation Publication

- Outstanding Achievement in Preservation Education

- Excellence in Heritage Preservation

To nominate a person, project, or program, visit to obtain a nomination form or nominate online, or request a nomination form by calling or emailing 501-372-4757 or Nominations are due by Sunday, Aug. 31, 2014.