The Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support have begun accepting nominations for the 2014 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year awards. Each year, the division partners with the Governor’s Office and the Arkansas Municipal League to sponsor the awards. The nomination deadline is Sept. 30.

Twelve communities throughout the state will receive recognition for their volunteer efforts. A committee of citizens who represent a cross-section of the state population will select winning communities. The awards will be presented at the Arkansas Municipal League Winter Conference.

Recipients of the 2013 awards were: Murfreesboro, Norfork, Redfield, Clarendon, Clarkridge, Vilonia, Heber Springs, Van Buren, Blytheville, Bentonville, Fayetteville, and Fort Smith. Volunteers in these communities donated thousands of hours last year toward supporting on-going activities and needs of their fellow citizens.

For a nomination form or more information, visit the DCSNS website: Volunteer Community of the Year awards, or contact DCSNS staffer Christina Smith at 501-320-6039, or by mail at P.O. Box 1437, Slot S-230, Little Rock, AR 72203.